Haute-Vienne: A Brief Guide

Chateau de Montbrun Haute-Vienne

To the North-West of the Limousin region lies the Haute-Vienne department (“High-Vienne”) with the Poitou-Charentes region to the West and across to the Atlantic Coast, and to the south is the ever-popular department of the Dordogne. Talk to anyone who has been looking at property for sale in Haute Vienne, and they’ll tell you what… Continue Reading

Limousin Region of France: A Brief Guide

Limousin Cattle

The Limousin region, which now forms part of Nouvelle Aquitaine, is composed of just three departments and sits at the heart of rural France, in the transition between the Centre and the South-West. These three departments are the Haute Vienne (87), Creuse (23) and Corrèze (19) whose department capitals are Limoges, Guéret and Tulle respectively.… Continue Reading

Aquitaine Region of France: A Brief Guide

Aquitaine Region Dordogne The French Property Agents

NOTE: Aquitaine became part of the larger region ‘Nouvelle Aquitaine’ following a territorial reform which took effect from 1 January 2016. It combines the former regions of Aquitaine, Poitou-Charentes and Limousin. Located in South-West France, the Aquitaine region is known for its beaches, countryside and, of course, vineyards. To the south of the region, between… Continue Reading